AA Travellers say...

Reviews of Grand Hotel Rotorua

1130 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone: +64 7 348 2086
Rated
7
AA Travellers say...
[ 132 reviews ]
Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
7/10
8/10
Rated
7
AA Travellers say...
[ 132 reviews ]

AA Traveller Reviews (132)

Date of Review
Feb 2017
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
10/10
10/10
10/10
Rated
10

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Location, value for money

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

A bedside lamp both sides of the bed. Someone should be checking the rooms to make sure there are glasses and cups in every room. Wine glasses per person in the room would be good

10/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
10/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Feb 2017
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
No

Cleanliness
Value
Service
5/10
2/10
9/10
Rated
5

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

staff were really good to deal with. always friendly and while we were waiting for our room to be finished the lovely man at the desk helped with places to go and things to see.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

i was very dissapointed in everything else really. the shower sprayed everywhere and because of this the jib board is coming away at the top of the shower and there is mould. this has obviously been happening for a while yet nothing has been done they say they have air conditioning yet it was apparently out during our stay which we found odd considering they are all individual units and run seperatly so how can they all be out. we were there for 4 days yet there was no attempt to fix this issue while we were there. the whole place needs a make over. the hall and stair well has a run down look also the room always smelt. they were marketed as priemium rooms but they were anything but.

2/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
7/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
2/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
1/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
9/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Nov 2016
Type of Traveller
Family with teenagers
Recommended?
No

Cleanliness
Value
Service
5/10
4/10
5/10
Rated
5

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Location was very central

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Accommodation generally 'tired' but clean

6/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
4/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
3/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
5/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
5/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
5/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Nov 2016
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

1 person found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
8/10
9/10
10/10
Rated
9

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

The staff is very friendly and helpful !

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Customer did not leave their comments.

8/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
8/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
8/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
9/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jul 2016
Type of Traveller
Solo traveller
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
6/10
6/10
6/10
Rated
6

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Good value for money

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

The pub on the same street had live band on until 11pm

6/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
6/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
6/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
6/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
6/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
6/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jun 2016
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
No

1 person found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
1/10
1/10
10/10
Rated
4

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

We left our pillow behind (an expensive one) we were so pleased to receive a phone call to advise us of this and they held it for us until we returned a week later.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Total interior repaint, carpet needs replacing, not a single picture or anything attractive in the rooms, ceiling panels missing and obvious water damage showing in dining area, it actually looks like they are going to shut the doors any day now and walk away. The parking area is potholed and no maintenance on the grounds. Actually the only area looking respectable is the reception area which is very misleading.

1/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
1/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
1/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
1/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
May 2016
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
6/10
7/10
Rated
7

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Having a continental breakfast within the accommodation price was a bonus.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

We were kept awake with night club music until midnight. This cannot be changed because of the location. The pillows were very hard.

7/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
7/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
5/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
7/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
7/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
7/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Mar 2016
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

1 person found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
10/10
10/10
10/10
Rated
10

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Very clean n tidy

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Customer did not leave their comments.

10/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
10/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Mar 2016
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
8/10
9/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

There is always a warm welcome at The Grand, Rotorua. We like staying there as it is central, reasonably priced, and enjoy a Thursday night when we are in walking distance of the food markets and music.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

It is fine for what we need for an overnight stay.

7/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
7/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
7/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
9/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
9/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
9/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Dec 2015
Type of Traveller
Solo traveller
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
7/10
7/10
Rated
7

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

great location

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

a clean kettle and fresh milk would be great. free Wi-Fi in the room.

7/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
7/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
6/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
8/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
7/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
7/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
© Powered by AA Traveller