AA Travellers say...

Reviews of Alcamo Motel

290 Ulster St, Witiroa, Hamilton, New Zealand
Phone: +64 9 7 839 0200
Rated
7
AA Travellers say...
[ 13 reviews ]
Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
7/10
8/10
Rated
7
AA Travellers say...
[ 13 reviews ]

AA Traveller Reviews (13)

Date of Review
Oct 2015
Type of Traveller
Group of friends
Recommended?
No

1 person found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
6/10
3/10
9/10
Rated
6

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

The unit, especially the bedding, was very clean.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Provide a "welcome" folder including information about the facilities and amenities provided and how to use/access them. Have emergency procedures clearly visible (not hidden in a kitchen cupboard!) and install smoke alarms/sprinkler system Have facilities available for the no. of occupants (an apartment for 6 had only 1 fork, no paring knife, no microwave dishes, 3 badly stained dining chairs, 2 lounge chairs, 2 face cloths). Make sure all appliances are working (bedside light bulb out, no head on hair dryer. Make provision for re-cycling. Provide sky tv.

4/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
8/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
2/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
4/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
9/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
9/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Sep 2013
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
8/10
8/10
8/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

The chef was great and her food was lovely, very friendly.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

It would be nice to have the dining room open for breakfast. Having the shower over the large spa bath was a problem as it is very difficult to get into about of. The rooms are a bit dated.

8/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
8/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
8/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
8/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
8/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jul 2013
Type of Traveller
Family with teenagers
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
9/10
7/10
9/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

The room had a big spa bath that my daughter and i loved and was close to town and supermarket easy to find

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

It would have been good if there was a microwave in the room as i thought it had a kitchen

7/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
7/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
7/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Feb 2013
Type of Traveller
Solo traveller
Recommended?
No

Cleanliness
Value
Service
8/10
9/10
8/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

The size of the room.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Desk staff should know what is going on and how to do things. Information in the room should match reality - eg, when and where breakfast is served.

8/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
7/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
7/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
9/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
7/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Oct 2012
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
9/10
10/10
10/10
Rated
10

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Customer did not leave their comments.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Steps to access the spa- too high for children

9/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
9/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
9/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
10/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Oct 2012
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
9/10
10/10
10/10
Rated
10

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Customer did not leave their comments.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Steps need to build to access the room spas , bit too high for children

9/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
9/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
9/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
10/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Aug 2012
Type of Traveller
Solo traveller
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
9/10
7/10
8/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

I booked through this website, choosing this motel because it was the cheapest at $89 per night for the two nights I needed. Upon checking in I was informed that that rate was no longer valid and the rooms were in fact $140 per night. The owner conceded a rate of $110 per night as a compromise, however I feel ripped off by this website and by the motel owner as I only chose that motel based on the prices advertised on your website. I am considering taking this matter further.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

I booked through this website, choosing this motel because it was the cheapest at $89 per night for the two nights I needed. Upon checking in I was informed that that rate was no longer valid and the rooms were in fact $140 per night. The owner conceded a rate of $110 per night as a compromise, however I feel ripped off by this website and by the motel owner as I only chose that motel based on the prices advertised on your website. I am considering taking this matter further.

9/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
9/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
9/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
5/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
7/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jul 2012
Type of Traveller
Solo traveller
Recommended?
No

Cleanliness
Value
Service
6/10
4/10
7/10
Rated
6

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Customer did not leave their comments.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Decor was very dated - Lighting in room was poor. Curtains did not block the light. Other guests were partying till 5.30am so I did not get much sleep.

6/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
6/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
4/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
4/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
5/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jul 2012
Type of Traveller
Business traveller
Recommended?
No

Cleanliness
Value
Service
3/10
5/10
7/10
Rated
5
4/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
2/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
5/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
4/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
5/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
8/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Mar 2012
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
No

Cleanliness
Value
Service
3/10
3/10
8/10
Rated
5

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Customer did not leave their comments.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

The place is really run down and worn out, had no maintance for years. Shower / spa bath has mould around the walls and needs a scrub and grout cleaned. Unit was clean just really run down had to roll up newspaper to jam in door to stop it banging all night. The walk in area by the pool is all black and needs scrubbing and painting, the furniture was green with mould that was cracking and falling off, luckily it was too cold to use this area. Not worth the money

3/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
3/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
3/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
3/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
9/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
7/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
© Powered by AA Traveller