AA Travellers say...

Reviews of Big Bay Holiday Park

271 Big Bay Rd, RD 4, Waiuku, Awhitu Peninsula, New Zealand
Phone: +64 9 235 1132
Rated
7
AA Travellers say...
[ 10 reviews ]
Cleanliness
Value
Service
8/10
7/10
8/10
Rated
7
AA Travellers say...
[ 10 reviews ]

AA Traveller Reviews (10)

Date of Review
Mar 2013
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

2 people found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
8/10
6/10
7/10
Rated
7

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

We had a great stay but next time we'll go DOC OR ARA CAMPING because apart from the hot water there wouldn't really be much difference and we'd have alot more bigger site to put up our tent without compromising the waterproofing. These old fashion camping grounds really need to look at their tent sizing!!

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

The size of our tent size was a HUGE ISSUE - they have marked out their sites for square or rectangle tents but ours was a multi dome shape which meant our waterproofing was comprised as we could n't put up one side - naturally we got a weather bomb and had to abandon to a cabin. A bit stingy to charge visitors $3 each for just walking into the camp too! HUGE AMOUNT OF FLIES ??? They need to sort out the lighting in the disabled toilet/shrower too - I was in darkness one night in the shrower

8/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
8/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
6/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
6/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
7/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
7/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Mar 2013
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
No

2 people found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
2/10
1/10
1/10
Rated
1

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

not really

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

the shower and toilet block was old and rotting around the bottom of the showers of the 4 sowers 2 did not have hot water there was no input from the staff as to showing amenities to us. we might as well of camped on the side of the road and would definately not go back

1/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
3/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
1/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
1/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
1/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
1/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jan 2013
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
No

2 people found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
6/10
7/10
8/10
Rated
7

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

The BBQ and Pizza Oven Area was really great

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Cleaning the bathrooms, showers and kitchen. All Areas are due for a refresh, they were all very worn, tired and well used, and could do with a good scrub clean. Perhaps mentioning on the website that the campsite is directly in the flight path of all incoming aircraft to Auckland International and Domestic Airport!!! The only sleep we had was between 1am and 5am

5/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
6/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
7/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
6/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
8/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jan 2013
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

2 people found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
4/10
9/10
Rated
7

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Fantastic spot, and will definitely be going back again, nice small camp and heaps to do in the area.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

More rubbish bins throughout the camp would have been good, bathroom and kitchen facilities coud definitely use a bit of tlc/renovation and I thought $1 for a Shower was a bit expensive

5/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
9/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
4/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
4/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
7/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jan 2013
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

1 person found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
8/10
8/10
9/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Child Friendly & very sheltered. The onsite takeaways served the best Fish & Chips at reasonable prices.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Requires an additional Fridge & Washing machine, especially over the peak season.

7/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
8/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
7/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
8/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
9/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Dec 2012
Type of Traveller
Travelling with partner/spouse
Recommended?
Yes

1 person found this review helpful

Cleanliness
Value
Service
10/10
6/10
6/10
Rated
7

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Customer did not leave their comments.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

If you are a couple and book a 2 bedroom over the Christmas period you will be given a 1 bedroom unit (but charged the same) as the 2 bedroom units are kept for families. The website lets you think you are getting a 2 bedroom unit and you don't find out until you arrive. I would like to suggest that this problem be rectified on the website.

10/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
1/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
1/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Sep 2012
Type of Traveller
Group of friends
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
10/10
10/10
10/10
Rated
10
10/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
10/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
9/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jan 2012
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
10/10
10/10
10/10
Rated
10

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

Everyone was very friendly. Very family orientated place.

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

Customer did not leave their comments.

10/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
10/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
10/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Jan 2012
Type of Traveller
Group of friends
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
10/10
9/10
8/10
Rated
9
10/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
10/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
10/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
8/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
8/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
8/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
Date of Review
Dec 2010
Type of Traveller
Family with young kids
Recommended?
Yes

Cleanliness
Value
Service
7/10
8/10
10/10
Rated
8

Was there anything really great about your stay you'd like to share?

We were really welcomed and made to feel that nothing was any trouble. A great start to our holiday! Thank you!

Are there any improvements you would like to suggest?

No

6/10CleanlinessThe cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room and bathroom met my expectations
7/10CleanlinessThe property's reception, parking and other public areas were clean upon arrival and maintained throughout my stay
8/10ValueThe range and quality of facilities and amenities provided at the property satisfied my needs
8/10ValueThe value received was satisfactory for the price paid
9/10ServiceThe staff were quick to respond to any questions or issues I had and appropriate actions were taken when necessary
10/10ServiceAll staff made me feel welcome and were friendly throughout my stay

Was this review helpful?
© Powered by AA Traveller